Intimate Information

April 24, 2008

Once in a while, I’ll take a look at Mark’s blog and can’t stop myself. Whether he’s talking about the latest duck confit or the new wikisym, I find it entertaining and informative. He often quotes people. So I’ll quote him here. I came across this: “Much of our most important writing is written to ourselves and to our immediate circle of family, friends, and allies. This intimate or nobitic information includes not merely calendars and grocery lists, but also work for planning our future endeavors, as well as correspondence to our future selves and our progeny.” – Mark Bernstein.

It got me to thinking about Personal Information Management (that Stephen Smith has blogged about) and personal, or intimate information. I remember just a few weeks ago, my wife was telling me some of her mental notes. She does not keep notes. But while she talked, I took some notes then I realized that her open talk or brain dumping and my capturing was setting up some goals for the year, whether it was a vacation wish list or the next movie we might look at.

2 Responses to “Intimate Information”


  1. My wife does not keep notes either. I would love to be able to capture some of her ramblings.

  2. ducly Says:

    lol My wife doesn’t even write in the check register. I’m slowly trying to convert her to the pen to paper method.


Leave a Reply

