La Toan Vinh’s Sketches of Bidong

December 8, 2007

bd15.jpg

latoanvinh-sketch.blogspot.com

http://bidong.blogspot.com

Two days ago, La Toan Vinh made a comment on before-pulau-bidong. Mr. Vinh made over one hundred sketches and paintings from 1980-1981. In a series of email exchanges, we communicated about our mutual experiences of Bidong. The drawings are helping me remember some of the details. The artist now resides in Montreal.

Dear Ðức,

It’s OK, I Happy to meet some of BIDONG Man in 80-81

http://bidong.blogspot.com/

DEAR Mr Duc

I am living in Montreal now, I escaped from VN since 1980 by CAN-GIO Vung Tàu, then arrived to BIDONG 5 days after

I made some Sketches on BIDONG 1980-1981 and Still keep it on me…

It’s long long time… I hope back to visit that Again in the new year 2008

Đức,

I’m artist in VN, In Bi-Dong i Worked as designer for H.C.R(high commitee for Réfugees)at Éducation Division then I asked my collegues to give the Materials to make the Artworks as you see…

Thank for HCR helping me to do some thing nice.

LTV

Dear La Toan Vinh,
I’ve been thinking about Bidong. I am working on a story about it. Your art work and photos have help me so much. I imagine you sketching on the island…I imagine how you met Ann Cusak.
What became of her and you? Are you pursuing your art?
-Duc

la-toan-vinh-pulau-bidong

Pulau Bidong picture on flickr very similar to sketch

tags: , , , , ,

 

3 Responses to “La Toan Vinh’s Sketches of Bidong”


  1. […] teaching and got compensate with papers or ink, in sum with means that enabled me to keep my visual memory […]


  2. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or advice. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article. I wish to read even more things about it!

  3. Art&Sketches Says:

    Very good Artwork my friend:D


Leave a Reply

