Wrike

October 31, 2007

I USE AND RECOMMEND WRIKE.COM

banner_img.jpg

I heard about Wrike.com through Stephen Smith of HDBizblog. He is recently

sponsored by Wrike. I thought I would check it out.

I signed up for the Free Membership which requires no Credit Card information. The bare bones Wrike gives me 20 tasks, 10 mb, and unlimited Groups. I think you can make this work but the luxury of larger storage space and unlimited task is appealing and even necessary. Remember what David Allen told us? Get 100 manila folders. Unlimited space allows growth. Wrike is tauted as the GTD application which incorporates emailing tasks to groups and to users with or without a Wrike account. Each task has a box to put in the user’s email, any email or email that is associated with the Wrike account. Thus delegating becomes easy with a push of the button. Because it is based on emailing which is very similar concept to Google mail. My experience with Google mail is great but I do not use it for GTD as it is a bit confusing and not that intuitive. I may have assigned one or two emails to the GTD folder but have not work much with it.

The first time I heard about GTD application was through Patrick Rhone at the beginning of 2007. I signed up for BaseCamp, a collaborative GTD productivity application. I tried that for a while before abandoning it because it was limited in the free membership. Next I hopped to ZoHo Planner, another free organization and productivity application, this time it allow me more tasks and was less constrictive. I don’t recall how collaborative both of these are because I was mainly using the system as a single user. But now that I have a chance to test drive a system with 15 users and 1 giga bite of storage with unlimited tasks, I’m beginning to re-access the system.

Now I’ve always use the paper system to augment the electronic version. But I find that I miss place the index cards or that particular piece of paper too often. It’s a good place for an in box but ultimately, an electronic system can be superior.

Wrike starts with Groups of folders pre-labled but you can change these. I quickly made the 1 @ Next Action; 2 @ Waiting For…Setting up the file system initially is a very important and need to be carefully planed. I’m used to file being organized by @ symbol follow by 1 and alphabetical. The folders in Wrike system are also able to be sorted by group symbols numbers and names. One just needs to refresh. So just start with the top group file folder and rename it what you need to. The group folders can have sub folders and one can move these folders into another groups. That is a nice flexible feature. As with any system there are plus and minus. Some people like the ability to drag and drop folders into sub folders. Wrike believes in the less accident prone approach to file moving, that means no accidental dragging and dropping of folders into the wrong group. (Correction: In a task I sent to Daria, one of the Wrike team member, I received a response from her which states that Wrike is developing the drag and drop feature in the near future.) If you don’t want to put a category into a sub category then always start in the ‘My group’ folder because once a folder is created in a sub folder, it can not be moved into a main group. If this is all confusing, just sign up for a free membership and play around with it. You can always upgrade it to the next level and evolve from there.

I like that I can assign a task to more then one group or sub groups.

What I like is the time-line feature. This is totally different from any of the previous systems that I’ve tried. I can view tasks by week, month, quarter, and year.
I like the file attachment which works very much like an email attachment. We have been familiar with that system for a long time now and it still works great.

The report feature is also very useful.

I’ve just barely tapped into the potential of Wrike as an organizational and productivity tool. I can see this as a great collaborative tool. Uploaded files are assigned to each task and share with your users. What is unique is that emails can be received and send so it’s not a hermetic but a very open out sourcing system.

Wrike-collaboration

tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Wrike”


  1. […] Previously:  ducly.wordpress.com/2007/10/31/wrike […]

  2. Alex Says:

    Ducly, you know, moving sub-groups into the main folder works for me perfectly. You might want to check it: open the group to edit and clear the “Included in” field. That’s it. That’s why I like Wrike so much: it’s so flexible that I can do almost everything with my plans.

  3. ducly Says:

    Alex, Thanks for the tip. If you have any more useful advice maybe we can hook up in Wrike.


Leave a Reply

