CircaRolla Manila Folder Recycle Project

August 29, 2007


Cira Manila Folder 2

Originally uploaded by Duc N. Ly.
I do like to use the thick Moleskine blank sketch notebooks. I’ve already filled up about half of one. I was thinking of getting another one but I decided to save some money and make my own! The thing about the Moleskine is that I can’t re-arrange the pages. Often the good sketches need to be gather into a sensible organized order. I’ve toy with the idea of cutting pages from the Moleskine and then punch them with the Circa/Rolla paper puncher to accommodate the discs. This project accomplished both objectives nicely. I’m always hesitant to draw on the more expensive Moleskine sketch books. With these home-made pages, I am more likely to draw on them.

There were a lot of discarded Manila folders in my office which I was starting to hoard until one day there wasn’t room in the drawers any more. So I decided to recycle them into a notebook! The legal size is cut down with the paper guillotine, and the corners rounded. I bought a corner rounder at a scrap booking store or they even have it at Target’s scrapbook section. To minimize the waste, I first clip the tab edge as these can get damaged in the file shuffle. I line up to the seven inch mark and chop the tab edge. Then I measure eight inches and chop the folder again. You can use what ever dimensions you want.

The corner rounder is from EK Success.

The paper puncher and discs are from Rollabind.com and Levenger.com

This is your tip of the week! Enjoy!

Featured in notebookism.com/2007/08/31 circarolla-mani

ducly.wordpress.com/2007/07/25/simple-mynd-hack

ducly.wordpress.com/2007/04/05/light-blue-hpda-cover

ducly.wordpress.com/tag/tow

If you like this hack please digg it/design/CircaRolla_Manila_Folder_2 

tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “CircaRolla Manila Folder Recycle Project”

  1. Stephen Says:

    Good re-use of manila folders!

  2. ducly Says:

    Thank You Stephen,
    I like your pencil blog too! I’ll add it to my blog roll.


Leave a Reply

