Active Voice’s iPhone Hpda Cover

July 13, 2007

 

I got to know Paul’s writing through a post on Notebookism. It was an enlightening post about the disc-bound system of the Rollabind and a filing system which utilizes discs similar to the Circa/Rolla variety manufactured by Jotz. Ever since then, I have added AV to the blog roll. It’s only been six or so months, the contents and the templates are so useful. I frequently read his writing and blogging advice column/blog. If I could afford it, I would hire him to edit my writing to make it better. Recently, Paul added a very cool cover for the Hpda which looks like the iPhone: http://www.avwrites.com/wordpress/?p=39
My niece (Kawaii-cat), who is not even in high school yet, wants one. My wife, who is a phone fanatic, wants one. We all tell my niece that she’s too young for such gadgets. Kids, now-a-days, are tempted by such extravagant technologies. I heard, on the NPR radio program, the other day that a technology expert is getting his five-year-old son a laptop because he doesn’t want his child to be behind in the technological-scheme-of-thing. Any way that’s another subject entirely.

[I showed my niece the website too and she wanted to make (or there should be) a virtual iphone- like a note book phone. With the iphone cover and clip to hold the papers together and stuff] (Kawaii-cat’s editorial notes. She’s my editor-in-chief [da- big-cheese])

I gave my niece the Hpda iphone cover and she was thrilled. But she wanted to have other templates which mimic the address book, calendar, and notes, or other features of the iphone. My niece, Kawii-cat (she’s currently working on a virtual zoo) has a very good idea! This got me thinking. Maybe someone should figure out similar templates for the hpda which looks like the iphone interface. I am not too familiar with the iphone features or looks. And I’m not advanced enough to make such a template. But I give you all this idea to incubate. Let me know what you come up with! If we can’t have the real thing at least we can have a fake one. If you are on Facebook, or as some people have started to call it ‘Crack’book because of it’s infectious and addictive nature much like the Blackberry has been dubbed the ‘Crack’berry, you can wait in line for a virtual iPhone.

Related post:

tags: , ,

17 Responses to “Active Voice’s iPhone Hpda Cover”

  1. Paul Lagasse Says:

    Hey, Duc —

    (*Blush*) Thanks for the kind words! I’m a big fan of your site too.

    I’m actually pretty affordable… 😀

    Tell your niece Kawaii-cat that I’m hard at work on a complete set of templates for each of the buttons, which will look like they are on the iPhone — and she gets to be the first person to use them! I’ll post a message here with instructions on where to go download them, before anyone else sees them.

    Deal?

    Cheers,
    Paul

  2. ducly Says:

    Hey Paul,
    That’s a deal! Kawaii-cat will be very happy indeed! I can’t wait. Your a genius with those templates. Let me know if you need any help. I see that you are ahead of us in this idea. 🙂
    Cheers,
    Duc

  3. Kawaii-cat Says:

    Hey everyone (wazzup uncle Duc?),
    yeah i have been obsessing over the iphone- everyone thinks i am loony. Spwee! a paper iphone is even better!- kinda!. Also if the people wanted more like custom template things they could make them themselves my writing all the stuff they want on an index card and stick it on with the packet of paper which will be sorta like an iphone 2.0 or somethin’… 😀

    anywayz, the first to use them? yee! I’d like to let the world know I feel special.

    cheers,
    kawaii-cat

    My website: http://www.blogagotchi.com/lollyland/

  4. Paul Lagasse Says:

    Cool! Hi, Duc and Kawaii-cat!

    OK, first go to http://www.avwrites.com/downloads.html#Fun to get the brand-new main menu screen, with all new buttons and more space.

    Then, go to http://www.avwrites.com/hphone-agenda.eps to get the first template, the Agenda…

    Enjoy!
    Paul

  5. Paul Lagasse Says:

    Hi, Duc and Kawaii-cat,

    The prototype ToDo list is now available for you to test-drive. You can download it at http://www.avwrites.com/hphone-todo.eps...

    Enjoy!
    Paul

  6. Paul Lagasse Says:

    Hi, Duc and Kawaii-cat,

    The prototype Calendar (2007, second half) is now available for you to test-drive. You can download it at http://www.avwrites.com/hphone-calendar2007-2.eps .

    Enjoy!
    Paul

  7. ducly Says:

    Thank you Paul, you are very fast on these templates. I’m impressed!!

  8. Paul Lagasse Says:

    Hi, Duc and Kawaii-cat,

    You’re very welcome! Hope you’re enjoying these “sneak previews.” And if you find things to improve, let me know.

    The prototype Notes template is now available for you to test-drive. You can download it at http://www.avwrites.com/hphone-notes.eps .

    Enjoy!
    Paul

  9. Paul Lagasse Says:

    Hi, Duc and Kawaii-cat,

    The prototype Capture template is now available for you to test-drive. You can download it at http://www.avwrites.com/hphone-capture.eps .

    Enjoy!
    Paul

  10. ducly Says:

    Paul, That is awesome. Kawii-cat and I made a Rolla index card notebook today. We will be using the iphone covers and other of your iphone templates! Thank You very much for letting us test drive!

  11. Paul Lagasse Says:

    Hi, Duc and Kawaii-cat,

    Cool! I’d love to see pictures when you’re finished! Would you be able to post them so I can take a look?

    The prototype Matrix template is now available for you to test-drive. You can download it at http://www.avwrites.com/hphone-matrix.eps .

    (Personally, I think this is the coolest one since the calendar, which is my favorite. Which one’s your favorite? Kawaii-cat’s favorite?)

    Enjoy!
    Paul

  12. ducly Says:

    Hi Paul,
    Sorry I haven’t been active with the iphone Hpda. After I dig myself out of the business, I’ll put together something with your lovely templates.

  13. Paul Lagasse Says:

    Hi, Duc and Kawaii-cat,

    I guess my comment announcing the Addresses template disappeared. Sorry! It is now available on my site’s Downloads page.

    The prototype Actions template is now available for you to test-drive. You can download it at http://www.avwrites.com/hphone-actions.eps .

    Enjoy!
    Paul

  14. Paul Lagasse Says:

    Hi, Duc and Kawaii-cat,

    After a long break because of work and travel to East Coast book fairs selling my novel, I’m finally back to work on my templates! Yay!

    The prototype Lists template is now available for you to test-drive. You can download it at http://www.avwrites.com/hphone-lists.eps .

    The last two should be coming soon…

    Enjoy!
    Paul

  15. ducly Says:

    Paul, Congratz on your Novel!@

  16. Paul Lagasse Says:

    Hi, Duc and Kawaii-cat,

    Thanks! If you’re interested, you can check out the novel’s website at http://www.SeeingThroughClouds.com .

    The prototype Ideas template is now available for you to test-drive. You can download it at http://www.avwrites.com/hphone-ideas.eps . It’s based on the nowMap concept created by PigPog, at http://www.pigpog.com/node/1700 . I really like his design.

    Enjoy!
    Paul

  17. Paul Lagasse Says:

    Hi, Duc and Kawaii-cat,

    Okay, this is it, the last one! The prototype Projects template is now available for you to test-drive. You can download it at http://www.avwrites.com/hphone-projects.eps .

    I’ve had a blast doing this. Be seeing you on the DIYPlanner boards, Notebookism, and wherever else we happen to bump into each other on the Web!

    Enjoy!
    Paul


Leave a Reply

