Michael Chabon

April 7, 2007

Date of Birth: 1963
Birthplace: Columbia, MD
Current Residence: Berkeley, CA
Education: B.A., University of Pittsburgh; M.F.A.,UC Irvine
Profession: writer
Influences, Interests and Interesting Tidbits: F. Scott Fitzgerald; Ray Bradbury; Jorge Luis Borges; Gabriel Garcia Marquez; John Cheever; Edith Wharton; Vladimir Nabokov; Robert Stone; Henry James; Marcel Proust; Gustave Flaubert; Richard Yates; John Collier; Robert Graves; Mike Davis; Roger Angell; Jan Morris; John Keats; Frank O’Hara. Chabon has a strict regimen of writing, confining himself to a 10 p.m. to 3 a.m. shift, Sunday through Thursday. “Sometimes I’ll write in the afternoon, but I just can’t work in the morning,” says Chabon, “I think a valuable message to a writer is, you have to work every day, preferably the same time every day.’ That may be the best advice I can give.” (Edvins Beitiks, San Francisco Examiner) Chabon on his method of writing a novel: ” I begin with an image, usually, or a vague feeling of some kind of a longing for a place, a person a time… then I try to figure out who my characters might be…what kind of people I associate with the above-mentioned feeling or longing… Once I have my characters I try to find a narrator, and then let my narrator help me find a way into a story…only when I’ve got about forty to fifty pages do I sit down a make an outline. Then I try to outline very carefully.” (AOL Center Stage, 7/26/95)You create a much better self when you’re writing. When you’re writing you’re much smarter, much wittier, a much better person when you’re pushing the keys of that keyboard. And if you’re not careful, you get trapped inside that persona, the person you’re writing about.
-Michael Chabon, San Francisco Examiner

Chabon’s elegant prose, breathtaking imagery and wickedly on-target dialogue precisely illuminate his characters’ absurdities. , Publishers Weekly

The young star of American letters …a writer not only of rare skill and wit but of self-evident and immensely appealing generosity.
-Jonathan Yardley, The Washington Post Book World

Interview:

My name is Dr. X, and I’m putting together the ‘League of Super Writers.’ We intend to fight crime and bad writing.

MICHAEL CHABON: Well, sign me up. Do we get to have a secret headquarters?

3 Responses to “Michael Chabon”

  1. franQ Says:

    Chabon has long been a favorite of mine, esp. his first novel MYSTERIES OF PITTSBURGH… My beef with him now is, yes he does create these wonderful stories and characters, but he doesn’t give a damn about them.

    How else could he allow the writer/director of DODGEBALL to get his hands on MOP and completely CUT the character of gay Arthur, reduce Phlox to “ex-girlfriend” status and turn Cleveland into a bisexual?

    I suppose $$ talks…

    Join the official MOP Film Boycott! http://groups.myspace.com/MOPfilm

  2. franQ Says:

    PS- I’ve got a copy of the MOP screenplay if you’d like to give it a read… Email me: bechsten[at]yahoo[dot]com

  3. ducly Says:

    Oh My I didn’t know that they are making MOP into a movie. I read that book too many times. It made such a great impression on me while I was in high school. I’ll join.


Leave a Reply

