Epica Amalfi Journal Arrival

March 1, 2007

I’m excited to report that my Journal has arrived. UPS shipping is fast and convenient, with the ability to track it on the web or in your email notification or text message alert on your mobile phone.

Thank you Tari. (When I wrote to Epica, it was to the info customer service email. Little did I know that Tari, the president of Epica would answer my inquires.)

The Epica box fits snuggle into the UPS box. Epica has thought of everything.

Here are a few pictures of the Epica Amalfi Journal.

The great spin is very durable. It also opens to lay flat. Three place of stitched binding. It looks like one of those journal from the Medieval Monastery. The journals come in a variety of sizes. This journal is 6×9 in size.

The leather is ‘oh my gosh’ buttery soft and it feels so great in my hands. Like Toni said, it does feel like I’m carrying a bible. I’ve seen journals that purport to be leather, but nothing is as refined and detailed as this Epica journal. I can see the pores and the tiny fine supple wrinkles of the leather. I choose to personalized mine with initials and the Fleur de lys in a copper reddish tone. Looks great on this lighter leather version. One can request a logo of one’s choice. It’s great for corporate gifts with personalized company logo such as a Mercedes symbol.

The cloth bag is a nice touch. Fleur de ly seems to be a symbol for a few of the paper mills of Italy. There is a 20% discount for the journals with the Fleur de lys emblem. These items are becoming limited and soon to be collectors item. Epica is shipping new journals with out the emblem. If you still want the Fleur de lys, the website will allow you to personalize it.
Signum is a very hard word to track down.

The fly leaf has the Signum imprint and the page after that has a Signum watermark. The green paper matches the thin green bookmark ribbon.

Hand made paper has some tooth to it. Great for charcoal and inks. It soaks up the fountain pen ink very well, indeed. There is no bleed through at all. However, as the pamphlet warns: “If you are fortunate enough to own an Amalfi journal, remember that a fountain pen may cause the ink to skip.” It only skips on the Amalfi handmade paper. The skip isn’t too noticible. I think it’s fine for my fountain pen. The tooth is great for pencil or charcoal drawings. I wrote in my book straight away because (like bungee jumping, don’t hesitate or you may not do it at all.) Don’t hesitate, you may not write in it for a long time. One final caveat: don’t let yourself be intimidated or afraid to write in or mount pictures in your Epica book. Believe it or not it’s our most common concern from our clients. Capture your most treasured memories & explore your life on paper. It will change you forever.

The corners of some Amalfi pages have a watermark of an anchor, perhaps to reflect the coastal town of Amalfi. Notice the warm and fussy edges of the paper. No paper cuts here.

ducly.wordpress.com/tag/epica

ducly.wordpress.com/2007/09/22/epica-ink-h

flickr.com/photos/ducly/tags/epica

trooji.wordpress.com/2008/01/06/epica-imports-fine-italian-leather-journals/

tags: , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “Epica Amalfi Journal Arrival”

  1. Toni Says:

    Hi Duc

    Ahhh there’s nothing like the exhileration of getting that UPS box containing the Epica journal. That feeling when you remove the book from it’s soft velvet bag and hold it in your hands for the first time!!!

    Right about diving in and writing right away! The longer you wait, the harder it is to soil the page with ink! But you have to!

  2. ducly Says:

    🙂 Hi Toni, Thanks for your comment. Yeah, I already am ready to snuggle up with it! -Duc


  3. You know, reading stories like this is precisely why we enjoy doing what we do! I am thrilled that you love the book and thrilled that your fountain pen works great on the handmade Amalfi Pages. I may just update the website to reflect your experience. I remember the feeling of beginning my first, say ten, Epica journals and the excitement I felt each and every time. It is an absolute pleasure to know that you (and Toni and thousands of others) experience the same bliss! Enjoy!

  4. ducly Says:

    Thank you so much Tari for the great experience of owning a durable sketch book. I value it highly and carry it with me everyday to draw and write in.


  5. […] Epica, owned by Tari Mannello, imports fine Italian leather books, journals and albums. The journals are real. Old world, vintage real. They are historical, luxurious and personalised. Each piece is a handmade, unique, one-of-a-kind item. Here’s proof. […]


  6. Those are great journals. I hope to get hands on some of that amalfi paper and try to make some with carved leather.

    have a nice day!


  7. […] of the leather journal!  I got to know Mystikleather because of a comment that was made about the Amalfi paper.  After looking at their website, I became excited with the idea of creating my own unique […]

  8. Stephen Says:

    Wow, I don’t know how I missed this great post of yours. I want to get one! How is it after a year or so?

  9. ducly Says:

    Hi Stephen,
    The Journal is still great after a year. I do want one in just the normal paper for everyday use. I really like how it takes up ink and I’ve done some brush ink work on the Amalfi pages.
    -Duc

  10. Stephen Says:

    Hi Duc,

    Thank you, I am glad to hear that. I like the look of their “World’s Thickest Journal” also, but it is not inexpensive.

    Stephen


  11. I would love to have a leather journal like that. Especially the paper inside, it just looks fun to write on.


  12. After reading this article, I just feel that I really need more information on the topic. Can you share some more resources please?


  13. Howdy just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same results. Kudos!


Leave a Reply

