Bookography I

February 20, 2007

Previously


I received a Fedex envelope today at 2:15 pm. It’s the Bookography that Ryan from Levenger sent me!! It arrived so quickly! I hadn’t expected it quiet so soon. Now I can use it. I’ve taken some photos of the gift and will post later. Over the long weekend, I had the pleasure to read so I’m almost finished with the WRL, which btw I’ve gotten a few good titles to put on my “list of candidates”. What I like about Bookography is that it encourages reading of multiple books during a period of time, week or months. The book is organized in such a way that it allows me to make notes about the books that I’m reading.

The Idea behind Bookography is that one begins to make notes and lists in the Bookography notebook and thus leaving traces of an Autobiography. Often, it’s difficult to start writing your autobiography and the idea seems self center, egotisical, and narssisstic. Well, when you write in the Bookography, it seems less about you and more about the book and the authors yet it relates to you in a personal way. My bookography will be unique and different for the rest. Bookography, provides a template for contemplation, a starting point. Because it’s in the Circa format, it allows for additional notes, pages, and clippings of reviews…etc. It’s perfect for the Perservationist who can make notes away from the actual book.

It’s a great planning and organizational tool. I’m thinking of rearranging my small library of books, CD, and DVD base on the Bookography system.  Typically, we shelf our books in Alphabetical or by Genera and then Alphabetical.  Not so in the Bookography system.  There are books in the ‘Library of Candidates’, books acquired but not read.  Then finally, the books come to rest in the ‘Living Library’.  The resting place of books that we have read.

You will not find Bookography or the Little Guide mention in the Levenger paper catalogue. I wonder why? I stumble upon it while surfing through Levenger’s on-line catalogue under the Circa section.

Update 2/21/07: I mention to you before that as I was reading WRL, I had my 4×6 index card for taking notes. So naturally, index began to creep up into my mind. Ryan, has also been pondering the same thing. There are a few email exchanges…we’ll see how it goes. One of the idea is to have a sheet of Dock-it in my Bookography. I can take notes on a 3×5 index card and then dock it into the sheet and put it into the appropriate section of the book.

Ryan has linked me to various resources:

http://www.blyberg.net

http://cic.si.umich.edu/node/408

PROGRESSIVE ORGANIZATION

Bookograph is in the category of Progressive organization. It is similar to GTD. The other method is in the basic programing or computer logic. There is a tree diagram of organization. One progresses from one stage to the next. It is like the Star Craft Game. One can’t build a tank before the Barrack is made. Once a branch and system of trees are in place, then it is very flexible. I can go back and forth.

2 Responses to “Bookography I”

  1. Kelly Says:

    I have no idea if this comment fits with this topic but it seemed to. I’ve started saving all of my library “receipts” (lists books out and due dates, etc) and posting in my journal. I can go back and make notations later but now they don’t flounder in my bag/car nor do I have to try and remember the books I’ve read…

  2. ducly Says:

    I think that’s an excellent idea Kelly…thanks for the tip.


Leave a Reply

