If you could write a book about anything, what would it be about?

September 27, 2006

If you could write a book about anything, what would it be about?

I would write a book about my adventures living one year on the Island of Malaysia.  This is a great question.  and I’m always thinking about writing this story.  i think a period of one year is just about write to focus in this book and it will probably take me one year to write it in isolation.

I found out about Hippolyte’s Island.  It’s similar to what I was thinking because it is obssive about island but not really like my island.  I had a crazy wander lust moment and booked a flight to St. Lucia one summer 2001.  it was off season and the hotel and air fare package was a bargain too hard to resist.  I was at a temporary job with a respectable start up architectural firm.

2 Responses to “If you could write a book about anything, what would it be about?”

  1. Cin Says:

    I was introduced to her work through her non-fiction book “No Place For A Lady” (which later was used as the basis for a display at the Vancouver Museum), and have worked my way through the others over time.

    If you haven’t already, can I recommend The Lives of Shadows? It’s the sort of book to get lost in…

    PS – Fabulous site – I found you through Notebookism.

  2. ducly Says:

    Thank you Cin, I checked out Lives of Shadows along with a few others and just didn’t have the time to finish it all. I’ll be sure to pick it up again. Thanks for the recommendation. I’m glad you like the site.
    Have you read her book ‘The Tatoo Map’? It would be nice to have seen the display at the Vancouver Museum.
    -Duc


Leave a Reply

