Poetry in Motion

August 11, 2006

August 11, 2006 Friday

Last night I saw ‘Poetry in Motion’, a very old film about poets reading and performing their poems. I saw Jim Carroll reciting “Just Visiting”. I re-read from ‘The Book of Nods’ the aforementioned poem and the NY and California Variation. Michael Ondaatje read a poem that he wrote for his niece. It was inspired or an answer to Paul Bowels assertion that Indian people don’t have a sense of the musical. I remember just one pretty line about a lady walking into the room with clanking ankle bracelets. It was the last line of the poem.

I stumbled onto audiopoetry.wordpress.com via the tag features of WordPress. I just listened to a poem by Ondaatje call ‘To a Sad Daughter’ on audiopoetry.wordpress.com. I don’t know if it’s read by Ondaatje.

I’m getting into a reading mode again. I’ve picked up Void of Course by Jim Carroll from my bookshelf.

Basketball Diary


frankohara.org/fohaudio02/poemlana.html

One Response to “Poetry in Motion”


  1. […] One of my favorite books ‘The English Patient’ by Michael Ondaatje won some time ago. The author is part Indian. […]


Leave a Reply

