ol’ an syne

January 1, 2003

 

ol’ an syne

In chronological order
‘The Sheltering Sky’ Nov 25 finished Thankgiving at Blatner Place’
‘Keep the River to Your Right’ (or is that left) June 2001 read at in Lake Balaton, Hungary
‘Sun Also Rises’ Sept. 11 2001
‘A Year in Provence’ Nov. 2002
‘Book of Illusion’ Dec. 2002
In chronological order

Crab Cake

January 1, 2003

 

Crab Cake

We had baby back ribs yesterday and Crab cake today. Dan fry the crab cake. Tina made it the previous evening. For lunch, we had beef stew. We sat around and Alex host a game show about food. I am constantly eating and thinking about food which strangely relaxes me and made me think about the book ‘A Year in Provence’. I think that sometimes I read about tragic stories and a light, funy book is a nice change of pace and that I should read more of this.

1.3.2003

 

blazers…scallopes…possessions.

We had Scallope soup in a hot pot fondue. The scallopes are huge and thick, the size of a half dollar. I’ve been holding a book ‘Possession’ by A.S. Byatt. I read it a little just testing the pages with my toes before I really dip into it. This feeling of departing is arriving…the aftermath of the holiday post funk. My brothers are leaving soon and it’s a little sad…but it will be okay. And I am about to leave too.